What You Do For God and the World Will Last: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

imgres-27

Where were you when you first heard or read that Prince Rogers Nelson died? I was at work in the conference room eating my lunch and reading the news. I ran to everyone’s office to deliver the news. I was really in disbelief and in the back of my mind I wanted someone to google it and tell me it was a hoax. That did not happen. Thinking of Prince takes me back down the memory lane of my childhood. Having a Prince poster on one side of my room and MJ on the other side. Remembering my cousin Latrice (she was Pookie during the days of Prince) telling us that Prince was her husband. Reminiscing about my Aunt Pepie (Pookie’s mama LOL) singing “count your blessings” instead of controversy and my cousins and I laughing so hard.

Hearing about his death instantly transported me to the Norwest Movie Theatre on the westside of Detroit where Tanecia Offord and I sat and watched Under The Cherry Moon . Or thinking about my mom taking me and Tanecia to see Purple Rain at the Mercury Movie Theatre and me covering my eyes and laughing during the sex and kissing scenes. Prince is one of the reasons that my favorite color is purple (before it became popular). Prince is also the reason I can easily insert songs into conversations. He has such an extensive catalogue of music that I can pull a Prince song out of my mental jukebox Rolodex and have it make sense. When Prince inserted “Mr. McGee’s” name into Raspberry Beret in 1985 I thought for sure he was talking about my grandfather.

Prince’s music has been a part of the soundtrack to my life. And in true connoisseur of music fashion Prince is now a part of the soundtrack of the lives of my 20 and 7-year-old daughters. I still have not sold my 15-year-old son on the idea that Prince is a musical savant. I’ll blame his dad for that, he’s from the Eastside of Detroit…I kid, I kid. As I write this I also remember my mama having the 45 of Little Red Corvette and telling me if it was played backwards there was some demonic messages. Even though I went to church and Buds of Promise every Sunday with my grandmother I didn’t care about any of that. I just knew that the rhythm and beat of his songs would stay with me for the rest of my life.

To hear that Prince was a true humanitarian who cared more about impacting lives than impacting headlines makes me LOVE him even more. And in the vain of his humanitarian efforts I will leave you tonight with the lyrics to one of my favorite Prince songs:

Money Don’t Matter Tonight .

One more card and it’s twenty two
Unlucky for him again
He never had respect for money it’s true
That’s why he never wins
That’s why he never ever has enough
To treat his lady right
He just pushes her away in a huff
And says ‘Money don’t matter to night’

Money don’t matter to night
It sure didn’t matter yesterday
Just when you think you’ve got more than enough
That’s when it all up and flies away
That’s when you find out that you’re better off
Makin’ sure your soul’s alright
‘Cause money didn’t matter yesterday,
And it sure don’t matter to night

Look, here’s a cool investment
They’re tellin’ him he just can’t lose
So he goes off and tries to find a partner
But all he finds are users (users)
All he finds are snakes in ever color
Every nationality and size
Seems like the only thing he can do
Is just roll his eyes, and say that

Money don’t matter to night (don’t matter)
It sure didn’t matter yesterday
Just when you think you’ve got more than enough
That’s when it all up and flies away
That’s when you find out that you’re better off
Makin’ sure your soul’s alright (soul’s alright)
‘Cause money didn’t matter yesterday, (don’t matter)
And it sure don’t matter to night

Hey now, maybe we can find a good reason
To send a child off to war
So what if we’re controllin’ all the oil,
Is it worth a child dying for? (is it worth it?)
If long life is what we all live for
Then long life will come to pass
Anything is better than the picture of the child
In a cloud of gas
And you think you got it bad

Money don’t matter to night (no, don’t matter)
It sure didn’t matter yesterday (yesterday)
Just when you think you’ve got more than enough
That’s when it all up and flies away (flies away, flies away)
That’s when you find out that you’re better off
Makin’ sure your soul’s alright (make certain that your soul’s alright)
‘Cause money didn’t matter yesterday,
It sure don’t matter to night

Money don’t matter to night
It sure didn’t matter yesterday (yesterday, yesterday)
Just when you think you’ve got more than enough
That’s when it all up and flies away (flies away, flies away)
That’s when you find out that you’re better off
Makin’ sure your soul’s alright
Money didn’t matter yesterday,
And it sure don’t matter to night

 

Leave a Reply

