Top 5 Things My Mama Told Me But I Didn’t Listen: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

1935758_953468554234_6654041_n

My mama is a very wise woman. Growing up I thought she thought that she was a know-it-all. Well, she kinda is. My mother was double promoted in elementary school and graduated valedictorian of her high school class. She also gave birth to me at the age of 18 years old. She also has her associates, bachelor and masters degrees. So, yeah I can say that she is educated inside and outside the classroom. Now that I am real grown with an almost 20-year-old of my own I can wholeheartedly say my mama is the real deal Holyfield in the advice and wisdom department.

Here are my Top 5 Things My Mama Told Me But I Didn’t Listen To:

  1. I don’t care if you are married, single, divorced or separated when you have a baby you will do most of the care-taking. That baby is yours no matter what. Now at the time I was a young pregnant 19-year-old who thought the father of my oldest daughter and I would stay together forever. My mama saw the writing on the wall, but I was young-dumb-and-in love. In my young mind I thought my mama was being a hater because my sperm donor was never around (although the Lord did bless me with a “daddy”). But what she was saying came from her own personal experience. She knew you can’t really respect young love fully because it’s naive and full of fluff.
  2. Being impatient will get you in trouble. My patience has developed over the years. As a teenager and young adult I was always getting into trouble or putting myself in places of hardship because of my impatience. And most of the times my parents had to bail me out. It was not until I slowed down and really processed my decisions and actions did I begin to understand the constant merry-go-round I was on. Now I just sit back. Watch. Then act.
  3. Exercise and eat right in your 20’s and 30’s. Weight will start to catch up with you by the time you hit 40. I have flirted with my waistline for as long as I can remember. I have always been shapely. However, the women on my maternal side are known for having a lotta junk in the trunk. We have heart disease, arthritis and cancer as well. Since I hate the scale and normally judge how much weight I’ve gained by my side rolls, let’s just say I need to hit the gym or the Quan to get rid of these love handles.
  4. Pay yourself first. I knew this advice was in reference to money, but as I have grown older I understand this in a broader sense. Pay yourself in time, self-care, energy and love. My mama has shown me that you can’t give of yourself when you are depleted in many areas. Now, just to let you in on a little secret. My mama is very generous to folks who are doing something with their lives. However, don’t play with her or her money. My sister and I have coined her “the dopeman”. She doesn’t play when it comes to loaning money or paying bills that have her name attached.
  5. It don’t take all day to do nothing. As a child I really didn’t understand this phrase. But the older I become the more I use it in my everyday life. The phrase simply means that if there is something you really want or need to get done it doesn’t take all day to do it. In essence stop bs’ing your way through life.

So there you have it folks. These are just a few of my mama’s nuggets of advice that I should have applied earlier in life. Let’s be real. I needed life to whoop my butt some to appreciate the fullness of her life lessons.

Leave a Reply

