My Life Feels Like A Circus: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

acrobats-412011__340

I recently received an email from my youngest daughter’s 1st grade teacher. I will be the first to say that I adore her teacher. She is smart, pushes my daughter to critically think, doesn’t settle for mediocrity and it helps that she is one of my most loyal So Yummy customers. But right now I feel like I am in a circus and I am performing EVERY act under the big top.

The email states the following:

  • Newsletter- remember to click on the pop out square at the top right corner of the newsletter so that you can see it in full view.
  • Spelling words for the week- find your child’s initials
  • March snack calendar
  • I have also added a new tab under the assignment tab where you locate the spelling words for the week.  Under the assignment tab is another tab labeled “Math problem”.  I will start posting a new story problem each week for students to practice over the weekend.  Read the newsletter to find out the student’s areas of struggle and have them solve a problem once a week.  Or you may want to make up your own numbers to make it harder or easier in order to meet your child’s needs.
  • This week I will begin doing running records for report cards so please brush up with your child on retelling fiction stories using character, setting, problem, solution, and major events.  For Nonfiction, they should be able to retell the main idea with supporting details, know characteristics of NF books such as captions, table of contents, glossary, index, why words are bolded, heading/subheading.  These are all concepts that should be reinforced at home in order for your child to be able to use them and point them out in text.  

Now, I like to consider myself an above average involved parent. My 7 year old reads and writes with the best of them. Her math is on point and she even uses some of these God awful Common Core strategies to tell me what 4+5 equals. I help in the classroom and join an occasional field trip when my schedule permits. But right now I want to play Smokie Robinson’s Tears of a Clown. This juggling act of being a mama here and afar (my son lives with his dad in NC), trying to live the dream of creating multiple streams of income, pursing my passion, and working a 9 to 5 that’s really a 9 to infinity is making me Weak like SWV.

If my life was a circus I would be the promoter, a ticket taker, tight rope walker, lion tamer, and penguin wrangler. Wait are penguins at the circus? There are times when I have so much to do I get on my own damn nerves with lists, dates, numbers and instructions. My life right now is a circus. And then I get an email that on the surface looks harmless. These are the things my 7 year old needs to know. I get it. But seriously, I am tired of being the ringmaster. For once I want to just sit in the uncomfortable chairs, eat some popcorn, grab a hot dog and an icee and watch the show. Clap at the end, get up and have someone drive me home and tuck me into bed.

As a single mama out here in these streets that is not my reality right now. Let me put on my top hat and start this performance. I have to prepare the next act for the main stage. Wish me luck and pray for the lions!

One thought on “My Life Feels Like A Circus: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

Leave a Reply

