It’s Okay To Let Others Celebrate You: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

IMG_20160123_173749
2Hot 2Handle 

Somebody Cue the Uncle Luke “It’s Your Birthday” song because I just celebrated my BIG 40th this pass Friday. And in true friend fashion my closest friends threw me a surprise birthday luncheon. It isn’t ironic that my accountability partner/life coach/mentor Cheranissa Roach got me together (yes my nickname for her is The Queen of the Get Together) right before my birthday because I was having a moment. I came to the realization that it is very difficult for me to celebrate me. Oh, it’s very easy for me to shoutout others, their accomplishments, causes and events. But when the time comes for me to do the same for myself I at times shrink like a violet. Why? Well, that’s an answer that I am still searching for, but I know at some level it’s connected to worth, fear and uncertainty. I have surrendered in many areas of my life, but there are certain areas that challenge me to show up at a higher level. And just to be honest it scares me.

I have been talking about my 40th since I was in my early 30’s. I could not wait to hit the midway point in life and Tootsie Roll out into the sunset at 40 years old. Hell, I even blogged about it. Check it out here if you missed it. But as that thang came rolling full speed ahead towards me I froze. All of my grandiose plans flew out the window and I had no idea what I wanted to do for my 40th birthday. See I spend so much of my time doing and being for others that I got lost somewhere in the shuffle.

So because my good, good girlfriends who are actually more like my sisters know me so well they planned it behind my back. And for that I am ever so grateful. You need people in your life who will celebrate you when you can’t muster up the faith to celebrate yourself. You need sistafriends who say “hey girl, I see you. I support you and YES, you are worthy of a day to yourself”.

To my friends of 32, 28, 22 and 10 years from the bottom of my heart I say thank you!

From the halls of St. Mary’s of Redford 3rd grade to the offices at the University of Michigan I SCREAM THANK YOU!

We are all worthy to be supported, celebrated and loved on.

This weekend was all that and a bag of  Flaming Hot Better Maid chips with a nice cold Rock-N-Rye Faygo pop on the side.

12540560_10101283381665051_802494855915290590_n
Where My Girls At? #BuildingEmpires

 

Can’t forget the folks who birthed and raised me. Without my parentals I wouldn’t be here to tell the story!

IMG_20160123_162626
This is what that 70’s love looks like!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Okay To Let Others Celebrate You: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

Leave a Reply

