Everybody Could Use a Patti LaBelle Floor Roll: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

imgres-8.jpg

The day I fully understood the distinct difference between grace and mercy my whole life changed. How I experienced situations and the people in them changed. I was a full fledged, full-figured adult when I realized it. I grew up most of my life going to church and never understood the fullness of God’s grace and mercy. I don’t know how many times I have mumbled “Lord, have mercy!” when faced with adversity, trouble or trials.  I thank God that he is generous with both.

When I look back over my life I realize that God has provided me with an abundance of grace that surpasses understanding. I have been blessed in many areas of my life when really my actions have not always been deserving of the grace. But He provides it anyway!

Lord, have mercy has a new meaning for me. When I think about how many times I have fallen short, operated in disobedience and ignored the still small voice, I really could do a Patti LaBelle roll on the floor. God has always been there to cover my mess and turn it into a message.

hqdefault-1.jpg

God is providing me with opportunities on a daily basis to provide people with the same level of grace that I want extended to me. The old me was quick to judge or assume and slow to hear and listen with intent. I am learning that grace is about assuming the best and looking for the better no matter how bad the situation or person may seem.

For example, as I am trying to complete this blog post at Starbucks, there is an older couple arguing (really the wife is arguing with herself) about getting additional life insurance and not wanting a physical done by a doctor she doesn’t know (I told y’all I can do 2 things at one time). She is VERY LOUD and it’s irritating me. Like I want them to discuss this at home. BUT, grace says “Vanita, you and your future husband could potentially have the same argument so get over your annoyance and stop ear hustlin'”.

imgres-9.jpg

See the everyday simple situations always provide you with a platform to extend a level of grace that is beyond comprehension.

Be Grateful and Be Graceful!

Leave a Reply

