The Waiting Game: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

b25e192d97b34743a28b6d2a951258da

Tonight’s blog is dedicated to all my single, divorced and widowed friends and family who are playing the waiting game. I have been playing this game for almost 6 years. I must admit there are times I don’t like the rules, players or moves around the board.

I had a very interesting conversation with a 20-something today that made me appreciate the wait. These last 5 years have taught me a lot about myself, my tolerance level, my standards and my bad habits. It has also taught me about my dreams, hopes, fears, passions and my boundaries. Do I want companionship? Hell yeah! But, am I also comfortable chilling by myself at a movie theatre during a $5.00 matinee? Hell yeah!

Now, this is not to say that I am so in love with my own company that I don’t enjoy the company of others. However, what I am saying is that the wait gives you time to work on you. Find out who and whose you are while you are waiting. Learn a new hobby. Go out with friends. Enjoy life. Travel. Go to concerts. Start a business (Gifted Visions Unlimited Baby!). Start a blog. Write for a magazine (Nia Magazine). Take a Class. Attend events where you have to dress up, show up and show out. But by all means LIVE LIFE To THE FULLEST while you are playing the waiting game.

Once you get in a relationship you must show up as your true authentic self. If you haven’t given yourself time and space to develop then you might end up sending a hologram. For all of you 70’s & 80’s babies you can thank me later for the visual below. I know it’s killing you softly.

imgres-3

So the next time you get in your feelings about not having a “Boo-ation Situation”, turn on some good music, look in the mirror and dance with the carefree vigor of this baby. It will do your heart and soul a world of good.

711b0580-23f0-0132-08f1-0eae5eefacd9

Leave a Reply

