Be Not Easily Offended: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

imgres

I’m baaaaacccckkkk!!!! I had so much fun at a 20 Year Vow Renewal wedding and reception that I had to recuperate from all of the 80’s and 90’s Hip Hop and R&B that went down on the dance floor. Shout out to one of my favorite couples Fred and Talisha Belk! Their love is FANTABULOUS and makes me hopeful to get my happily ever after one of these days.

But enough about my tootsie rollin’, supersonic escapades. Tonight I want to talk briefly (yes, I said briefly because I am about two sheets to the wind sleepy) about not being easily offended. Let me make a confession. When people talk about haters, I laugh because in my mind everybody likes me LOL!!!! Call me crazy, but I think I am a down-to-earth, dope, funny, loving, super supportive and sincere chick. Like if I wasn’t me, I would be my friend. But contrary to what I may believe that is not always the case.

In an effort to keep my skin thick (I’m thicker than a snicker) I make a conscious decision to not become easily offended when people say things that may rub me the wrong way. Now this is a big departure from how I used to respond to people’s comments. My old tactic was to chop and screw you up so bad with my words that you would think twice about saying something offensive to me ever again. But guess what? I now know the following things:

  • Hurt people, hurt people.
  • If I don’t mind, it don’t matter.
  • Most offensive comments have less to do with me and are more about the negative space the person making them is in.
  • I can at times be too much for some people. I laugh loud, I talk loud and I love loud.
  • Sometimes people admire who or what you are and have a funny way of showing it.
  • Being transparent helps people see that even though you look like you have it all together; you too are a work in progress.
  • If people knew what you had to do, to get where you are, they may change their mind about trying to take that path.
  • Favor ain’t fair and neither is spades LOL.
  • It’s easier to forgive folks that don’t know better than to write them off.
  • No one can dull my shine; especially when Christ is my light.

So next time you decide to be the offender, check yourself to see what is triggering this behavior. And if you happen to be on the receiving end of the offense, really try to look at the core of what is being said and the person behind the words.

Thanks for coming out! God Bless! Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

