Things My Children Taught Me: Not So Random Thoughts Before Bed

I always say that you can learn something for anyone; including your children. My children teach me daily about my patience, my attitude, my compassion and my aptitude. This evening’s NSRTBB is dedicated to the 3 biggest accomplishments in my life: Shay-Shay Boule, Duke and Lexa Cat (yes, we give out nicknames in this family). These three amigos always keep a watchful eye and a hustling ear to everything I say, do and think. They are at times my biggest headache, while at the same time my greatest joy. Here are a few things I have learned from them:

Shay-Shay Boule

  1. When your world is spinning out of control just breath.
  2. Even if someone tap dances on your last nerve at the end of the day love wins.
  3. Be a champion of people; especially your friends.
  4. It’s okay not to be brave all the time, but when you are brave kick ass and take names while doing it. (Disclaimer: Nana if you are reading this, no she didn’t literally say this.)
  5. Relax. Life is not fun if you are always yelling.
  6. Dancing and good soul music are mandatory requirements no matter the environment.

Duke:

  1. Distance can never break the bond of people you love.
  2. Be confident in who you are and what you believe.
  3. You are entitled to your opinion even if others disagree.
  4. Young men can be compassionate.
  5. Being analytical can prevent a lot of mistakes.
  6. Dads matter a whole lot.

Lexa Cat:

  1. You can see the beauty in anything; even if it’s old aluminum foil. (This is the craftiest child that I have ever laid eyes on.)
  2. Having voice and choice is important, even to children.
  3. If someone hurts you, it’s okay to express your feelings and cry. But not for too long.
  4. Sometimes you need to dance in the rain. Your hair needs the moisture and it’s fun.
  5. Mom doesn’t know everything.
  6. A soy chai tea latte is the answer to all life’s problems.

I can seriously say that my children are fierce, fabulous, grounded and loving. Each has their own unique qualities and characteristics that make them a joy and a pain (I’m just being honest). But isn’t that what life is all about. Bringing your full self to the table of life. I may not always be the most loving parent. I make mistakes and do the best I can with what I have.

Just like the song says, “I’m only human, born to make mistakes”. However, our children need to see our human side. We are not invincible, we don’t know it all, we don’t move through the world with an “S” on our chest, we don’t always have the answers (Just ask Kanye and Sway) www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RcAzPMhdB0. Yet, we love, we dream, we praise and worship, we do know somethings and have some answers. And this good people is the making of well balanced parents and children. Our children are not one size fits all and neither should our parenting style. We do the best we can with what we have and leave the rest in the hands of the Lord. As parents we must be teachers and learners.

These two songs always give me strength in the world of single-mommyhood! Be encouraged people you are doing better than you are giving yourself credit for.

Chrisette Michele ‘Super Chris’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BpTAcMJsr4

Chrisette Michele ‘Supa’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=0u4CLsTzV_I

Kindred the Family Soul ‘I Am’ youtube.com/watch?v=KpeNGpu9Lv4

Leave a Reply

